March 27, 2009

  • Hotmama in a Hotsling

    I’ve been noticing a lot lately about the popularity of “baby-wearing”.  With my first two kids, I was not that into the idea.  I did have a Baby Bjorn, but only used it when absolutely necessary (like a public place that didn’t allow strollers) because it hurt my shoulders and neck.

    I see moms around town with their little newborns snuggled so happily in these crazy contraptions of slings, and they both look so happy.  It’s seemed womb-like.  So, I decided to try it.

    I got a baby sling from www.hotslings.com and I was very impressed before I even fully pulled it out of the box.  The fabric is gorgeous and you can instantly tell that it is extremely well crafted.  

     

    La Vie en Rose

     

    I picked the La Vie en Rose pattern (shown here) and I have to honestly say that one of my favorite things about the sling is how GOOD I look in it.  I’m a jeans and t-shirt kind of a girl – always have been.  But seriously, I throw my supercute baby into this super hip hotsling over my worn out jeans and spitup encrusted t-shirt and I’m instantly transformed into a ROCKIN’ HIP MAMA.  I get lots of compliments everywhere I go.

    An added bonus is that baby Joel (7 months old) loves it!  Granted he’s the third child and squeals with delight anytime anyone even looks at him, but he does really love being attached-the-hip (LITERALLY!) to his mommy. 

    The only thing I don’t like about the hotsling is that it does start to hurt my hip/lower back after a while.  However, this may be a problem with my body and not a hotsling in general.  I’ve had 3 c-sections in the past 5 years, so I have a weak abdomen/core/lower back.  Maybe if I was stronger this wouldn’t be an issue?  Also, with the side hold (shown below) your one arm is not fully functional because the sling is over your shoulder and kind of restricts movement a bit.  For instance, you couldn’t really wash dishes with your kid in the sling.  It is way better though than carrying your baby in your arms. 

    Everyday

    I’d definitely recommend a hotsling to anyone interested in baby-wearing!

Comments (3)

  • I got one from tot-to-go.com and it was too small, so a lovely friend on Xanga made me one, (but I stupidly measured myself while I was still pregnant -  so it is too big) We tried the too small one again the other day and when she has better head support, I think we’ll be able to use it.  Very cool! 

  • I’ve got a Maya wrap that I really like.  I’m looking forward to using it to carry the newborn around.  Might make life easier as I chase the other two around the house:)  I agree–the fabric on yours is gorgeous!

  • This won’t actually have effect, I suppose like this. site check 0. This won’t have effect in reality, that’s exactly what I think. 1 web 5. It cannot have effect as a matter of fact, that’s exactly what I suppose. 8 5 0. Quite helpful data, lots of thanks for this article.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *