August 1, 2007

  • If you were reincarnated, would you want to come back as a man or a woman … and why?


    A man!

     

    Yes, yes, only women can experience the miracle of giving birth to a child and having that one of a kind bond (hahahaha at first I typed “bong”!).  And yes, I’m really enjoying that this time around.  I wouldn’t change it for anything.

    But next time, I want to come back as a man.  That miraculous feeling wears off after a while when you realize that it is pretty much your sole responsibility FOR LIFE to clean the house, nurse the babies, cook the meals, take care of the kids, weed the garden, send the birthday gifts to extended family, put your career on hold while you stay home with your kids, etc.

    I don’t want to sound like I’m whining about housework.  I’m not – the point I’m trying to make is that if you walk into the home of a married couple and it is a total mess, people’s first thought is “Wow, this woman is a lousy housekeeper.”  No one ever puts the responsibility on the man.

    When your father-in-law doesn’t get a birthday gift – it’s never a reflection on his own son.  It’s on the daughter-in-law. 

    Once you have a family, society views it as ok for the father to put himself first.  A mother can’t.  And if she does – she’s viewed as selfish or uncaring.  And it’s starting to annoy me.
       

    I just answered this Featured Question, you can answer it too!

Comments (7)

  • Wow, it’s like you are in my head!  It is so true.  It’s more than starting to annoy me.  I’m not sure I want to be a man though.

  • and you get to do number 1 standing up.

  • You know i have to disagree, I would NOT want to be a man if I reincarnate, for many reasons that can take up alot of space and time to type. Sure, everyone, man or woman, is subjected to society pressure or whatever, but it’s up to the individual to decide how they want to react to it. Just because being a woman is hard doesn’t necessarily mean being a man is easy.

  • I so agree! I am not a mother yet but my mom has to do everything. And she is the one who gets the blame for things not getting done… That’s why she does them!! I admire women like her and you, who tend to everything that the “man” forgets.

    You are a role model !

    Beca

  • Societal double- standards suck. “Because you were born with this set of genitalia, you are automatically better suited to this.” And then, paradoxically, we immediately turn around with the intention of eliminating chauvunism, while at the same time attempting to preserve various societal traditions which are inherently chauvunistic. (different standards for men and women in the more physical workplaces, etc.) It’s like trying to hold yourself at an arm’s length- no matter how much you may want to and even though you ultimately have control over your own body, you can’t.

  • I would come back just as i am ..Women…i like being a women …I love what men have and i enjoy flirting with them …Its so much fun…I work in the hospiltiy business so i meet some very nice men..

  • In my opinion everybody must go through it. go LINK go. In my opinion every person ought to browse on it. 1 3 go. Gosh, there is a great deal of effective info here! go 6 go. It won’t really have effect, I consider like this.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *