May 29, 2009

  • I’m a mediocre-ist

    Today is the day I’m officially declaring myself a mediocre-ist. I’m starting to realize that for some reason, I’ve befriended a lot of perfectionists throughout my life.  Not sure if I’m drawn to them because they fascinate me or if there are just simply a lot of them.

    Anyway, after a lot of soul searching I’ve figured out that I am not one of them!  I strive for mediocrity.  My motto is, “That’s good enough”.  When my perfectionist friends have conversations about cleaning their banisters with toothbrushes, I will no longer wonder why I don’t have the desire to do the same.  When my perfectionist friends point out that all my picture frames are slightly crooked, I will no longer wonder why I didn’t take the time to use a level when hanging baby pictures. 

    I will just simply shrug and say, “Eh, whatever…I’m a mediocre-ist!”

Comments (1)

  • Oh this is great!  It really grabbed my attention…oh my.  Yes, I can so relate, we have learned that a 70% works!  yay!  

    I often watch the moms who have the zip up planners etc….The moms who just perfect their homes to death. Yikes. 

    I’m all for utmost integrity but not perfectionism, I always say, my calendar on the wall in my kitchen?  That is planner enough for me. Recipe finds?  They go in a dollar store photo album.  My dollar store magnet pad on my fridge?  That’s all I need.  Yes indeedie.

    In fact, if you go to my dds site, there are some how to make things vlogs on the site….When my dd did these videos our mantra was a 70% works!  So when the dogs would bark in the background  as she made the video etc…We would laugh and say….70 works! : ) 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *