January 23, 2009

  • Embracing my insomnia

    So in addition to having a house set up where all 3 kids sleep near each other, I have insomnia.  In other words, I don’t get much sleep.  If I’m not awake on my own, then one of the kids is bound to be waking me up for one reason or another. 

    This morning, the baby woke up at 2am and after nursing him I COULD NOT fall back asleep.  I lay there doing Sudoku for two hours (I’m in need of a good book – any suggestions?).  Finally, at 4am I just gave up and came downstairs.  That’s when I realized that insomnia is a mother of three’s secret weapon! 

    Here’s what I accomplished before 7am today:

    • emptied dishwasher
    • folded a basket of laundry
    • washed 2 more loads of laundry
    • ate breakfast
    • drank 2 cups of coffee and actually read the paper!
    • tidied up the living room
    • matched a bunch of random socks that have been strewn all over the house for some reason
    • packed away the last remnants of Christmas decorations
    • paid bills

    This is truly amazing!  I accomplished more today by 7:00 am than I usually do in a week!  Thank you insomnia!

    Does anyone else ever do this?

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *