Month: March 2009

  • Hotmama in a Hotsling

    I’ve been noticing a lot lately about the popularity of “baby-wearing”.  With my first two kids, I was not that into the idea.  I did have a Baby Bjorn, but only used it when absolutely necessary (like a public place that didn’t allow strollers) because it hurt my shoulders and neck.

    I see moms around town with their little newborns snuggled so happily in these crazy contraptions of slings, and they both look so happy.  It’s seemed womb-like.  So, I decided to try it.

    I got a baby sling from www.hotslings.com and I was very impressed before I even fully pulled it out of the box.  The fabric is gorgeous and you can instantly tell that it is extremely well crafted.  

     

    La Vie en Rose

     

    I picked the La Vie en Rose pattern (shown here) and I have to honestly say that one of my favorite things about the sling is how GOOD I look in it.  I’m a jeans and t-shirt kind of a girl – always have been.  But seriously, I throw my supercute baby into this super hip hotsling over my worn out jeans and spitup encrusted t-shirt and I’m instantly transformed into a ROCKIN’ HIP MAMA.  I get lots of compliments everywhere I go.

    An added bonus is that baby Joel (7 months old) loves it!  Granted he’s the third child and squeals with delight anytime anyone even looks at him, but he does really love being attached-the-hip (LITERALLY!) to his mommy. 

    The only thing I don’t like about the hotsling is that it does start to hurt my hip/lower back after a while.  However, this may be a problem with my body and not a hotsling in general.  I’ve had 3 c-sections in the past 5 years, so I have a weak abdomen/core/lower back.  Maybe if I was stronger this wouldn’t be an issue?  Also, with the side hold (shown below) your one arm is not fully functional because the sling is over your shoulder and kind of restricts movement a bit.  For instance, you couldn’t really wash dishes with your kid in the sling.  It is way better though than carrying your baby in your arms. 

    Everyday

    I’d definitely recommend a hotsling to anyone interested in baby-wearing!

  • Update on my sleep deprivation status

    I went to the dentist today.  As I turned the corner into the room and saw that big chair reserved just for me – I got excited!  I slid in and just enjoyed being horizontal for 40 minutes, even with some lady chattering non-stop and scraping my teeth with really sharp tools.

  • Sleep, glorious sleep.

    I am OBSESSED with sleep.  It occupies my every waking thought.  Every single thing I do throughout the day, I do with sleep in mind.  Or rather, how it will help me get more sleep. 

    We’ve all been battling a stomach bug which made for a few sleepless nights, plus my husband has been out of town off and on for several weeks so I’m the only one on middle-of-the-night duty, plus plus I have 3 kids under 5 years.  One of those kids still loves to nurse several times a night.  In short – I’m severely sleep deprived.

    When I hear one of the kids cry out in the night, my immediate thought is (strangely) of Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt.  My mind starts rambling and imagining that they must have several nighttime nannies…how much does that cost?…what could I sell so that I could hire one?…does that nighttime nanny just sit there waiting for someone to wake up? or does she sleep until they do?…does she also cook breakfast and get the kids dressed so that Angie and Brad can sleep in or are her duties strictly night related?  Once I figure out the logistics, as I go through the motions of changing a diaper or nursing or getting a glass of water or picking up whoever fell out of bed, I just fantasize about this fabulous nighttime nanny.  And feel sorry for myself that I don’t have one.

    Then, during the day, every action is geared toward getting more sleep.  We have huge snowbanks, but that doesn’t stop me from organizing “running races” for my two oldest kids in the driveway.  They love it, and I watch with a smile urging them to run faster in the hopes that they will magically both fall asleep for a nap at the same time as the baby so that I can snooze too.  (this doesn’t happen much, but I work at it EVERY DAY)

    My body is running on adrenalin and my mind is constantly racing…who can come over and babysit so I can nap?  who can I call and invite my kid over to their house for a playdate?  how many games can I invent that involve me lying down?

    Is anyone else this obsessed with sleep?