March 9, 2009

  • Sleep, glorious sleep.

    I am OBSESSED with sleep.  It occupies my every waking thought.  Every single thing I do throughout the day, I do with sleep in mind.  Or rather, how it will help me get more sleep. 

    We’ve all been battling a stomach bug which made for a few sleepless nights, plus my husband has been out of town off and on for several weeks so I’m the only one on middle-of-the-night duty, plus plus I have 3 kids under 5 years.  One of those kids still loves to nurse several times a night.  In short – I’m severely sleep deprived.

    When I hear one of the kids cry out in the night, my immediate thought is (strangely) of Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt.  My mind starts rambling and imagining that they must have several nighttime nannies…how much does that cost?…what could I sell so that I could hire one?…does that nighttime nanny just sit there waiting for someone to wake up? or does she sleep until they do?…does she also cook breakfast and get the kids dressed so that Angie and Brad can sleep in or are her duties strictly night related?  Once I figure out the logistics, as I go through the motions of changing a diaper or nursing or getting a glass of water or picking up whoever fell out of bed, I just fantasize about this fabulous nighttime nanny.  And feel sorry for myself that I don’t have one.

    Then, during the day, every action is geared toward getting more sleep.  We have huge snowbanks, but that doesn’t stop me from organizing “running races” for my two oldest kids in the driveway.  They love it, and I watch with a smile urging them to run faster in the hopes that they will magically both fall asleep for a nap at the same time as the baby so that I can snooze too.  (this doesn’t happen much, but I work at it EVERY DAY)

    My body is running on adrenalin and my mind is constantly racing…who can come over and babysit so I can nap?  who can I call and invite my kid over to their house for a playdate?  how many games can I invent that involve me lying down?

    Is anyone else this obsessed with sleep?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *