June 26, 2008

  • Birth plans

    I liked Nurse Jenna’s post about Birth Plan vs. Birth Wish.  I didn’t type up a birth plan for Delaney’s birth because I kind of thought it might be a lot like planning a wedding (which I HATED).  With a wedding – the more you plan, the more things can go awry.  It’s the same with a birth.  The more of a set idea you have in your head of how the birth will go, the more chances you have to be disappointed. 

    With a wedding, no matter what goes wrong, you will still end up married at the end of the day.  And with your child’s birth, your midwife/doctor will do whatever it takes to get your baby born in the safest, healthiest way possible. 

    And isn’t that the whole point?

Comments (4)

  • I didn’t plan my wedding, I’m CERTAINLY not planning my delivery. 

  • Hi!  Just browsing Xanga, and I came across your site.  You have beautiful children.    I didn’t get to experience my daughter’s birth (the epidural didn’t take for the c-section and they had to use general anesthetic), but I’m hoping for a VBAC this time, but I don’t intend to plan everything, because I hate being disappointed, and if you don’t *plan* on something happening, you won’t get disappointed.  I do have a few things that I *hope* can happen, but you never really know…

    God Bless!

  • Love your attitude.  I think it’s good to go in with information and a general idea of what you want and don’t want.  For me, I knew that I’d try it without drugs but when the time came, I asked for them.  That was the extent of my birth plan!

  • @Punk_Rock_Mommy -  haha! that is EXACTLY what I told my midwife when I got to the hospital!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *