Month: April 2009

  • Just Be

    I’ve been going to Yoga for about 5 or 6 years now and I absolutely LOVE it.  I love stretching all my muscles and getting all the weird kinks out of my body that build up from lugging 3 kids around.  I love the feeling of peace and ease that comes over my body at the end of an hour long class. 

    I realized just now, that the one part of Yoga I’m not so good at is the same thing I struggle with in my day to day life.  I call it the “Just Be” part. 

    When you first sit down for a yoga class, the teacher instructs you to focus on your breathing, focus on the moment, don’t let any thoughts or stress from your day enter your mind, just be, focus on your breathing and sit still for a few minutes.  I try really hard, but I’m always secretly thinking “come on, let’s get the show on the road and start moving here”.  I’m anxious for the class to get going so that it will be over and I can have that feeling of relaxation.  I realize that this is the complete opposite of the purpose of Yoga.

    However, I’m the same way with my kids and life.  I catch myself wishing that they’ll “just outgrow this annoying phase” or daydream about the years ahead when they are all in school and I have some free time to myself.  Or I’m rushing the day along to get to naptime so I can get some household chores done. 

    I’m trying to start focusing on each moment and enjoying the fact that I have a 5 year old, a 3 year old and a 9 month old . Because I’ll never get this day again to Just Be.

    Does anyone else struggle with this?

  • What’s for dinner?

    OK, it’s 3:30pm and you have nothing defrosted and nothing planned for dinner. 

    What is your “go-to” recipe?