Month: February 2009

  • My favorite baby gadget

    I’m not much of a gadget person.  In fact, I try to steer clear of as much baby gear as possible.  However, I have one that I LOVE.  It’s the kidco food grinder.

      It is so great for easily making baby food for your baby!  If you have a banana or peach around, just throw it in, twirl the handle and VOILA – babyfood!  If you also don’t mind taking the time to boil a carrot, sweet potato, apple, etc. you can just instantly mash the soft veggie or fruit.  Plus, when they get a little older you can just put whatever you are having for dinner in and it will mash it up. 

    It’s a great way to supplement jar food.  And get rid of all the soft fruit you have laying around.

    What’s your favorite baby gadget?

  • Rethinking CFL lightbulbs

    So we were good little go-greeners and changed all the lightbulbs in our house to the new CFL lightbulbs.  And now, I want to change them all back.

    Yesterday, I went upstairs to change the baby’s diaper and heard a big crash.  No one cried, so I didn’t think much of it (my kids are pretty rough).  However, I came downstairs to see that they had knocked over a lamp and the CFL lightbulb had smashed all over our wool rug. 

    A quick google search assured me that all I had to do to clean up was:  get everyone out of the room, open the windows for 15 minutes, put the broken glass in a glass container with a lid, vacuum and then throw the vacuum bag away.  For real?  This is what we have to do now everytime we break a lightbulb?

    With three kids under the age of 5, mecury filled glass lightbulbs are just not something we are ready to use.

    Do you?